Open Educational Resources

Planning to search for OER? Read this step-by-step search strategy first.

"Peer-populated resources for art history teachers"

Continuously developed since 2005, Smarthistory is a free multimedia web-book for art history created and edited by Beth Harris and Steven Zucker.

Developed at the University of Houston, Digital History is interactive website meant to support the teaching of American History at the high school and collegiate level. The sites various resources are searchable by topic and historical era.

"Since 2004, InTech has collaborated with 87235 authors and published 2420 books and 6 journals with the aim of providing free online access to high-quality research and helping leading academics to make their work visible and accessible to diverse new audiences around the world. "

"OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation."

Digitalculturebooks is an imprint of the University of Michigan Press dedicated to publishing innovative work in new media studies and digital humanities."

"Open Humanities Press is an international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide."

"[Computer science] books available under free license that allow readers to copy and distribute the text.

"Our site hosts a rapidly growing collection of Simulation Programs for nanoscale phenomena that run in the cloud and are accessible through a web browser." The site also include and extensive collection of online presentations; course materials; learning modules; and podcasts.

MedEdPORTAL is a free peer-reviewed publication outlet provided by the Association of American Medical Colleges. The site can be used to access various educational materials like tutorials, virtual patients, simulation cases, videos, and assessment tools.

"A list of "open-source or open-access textbooks have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board."

"The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines."

"The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests."

"The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of multimedia teaching resources for the health sciences. HEAL provides access to tens of thousands of images, videoclips, animations, presentations, and audio files that support healthcare education."

"The Assayer is the web's largest catalog of books whose authors have made them available for free. Users can also submit reviews. The site has been around since 2000, and is a particularly good place to find free books about math, science, and computers."

iLumina is a digital library of sharable undergraduate teaching materials for chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, and computer science. It is designed to quickly and accurately connect users with the educational resources they need.

"Since 2004, InTech has collaborated with 87235 authors and published 2420 books and 6 journals with the aim of providing free online access to high-quality research and helping leading academics to make their work visible and accessible to diverse new audiences around the world. "