LibGuides: Music: Rock/Pop

CDs in Mason Library

Online Pop/Rock Music Journals

Billboard A trade publication. The international newsweekly of music, video and home entertainment; profiles, commentary, album ratings, feature articles, marketing and reviews.
Journal of Popular Music Studies Dedicated to research on popular music throughout the world & approached from a variety of positions.
Popular Music An international multi-disciplinary journal covering all aspects of the subject - from the formation of social group identities through popular music, to the workings of the global music industry, to how particular pieces of music are put together. The journal includes all kinds of popular music, whether rap or rai, jazz or rock, from any historical era and any geographical location.
Popular Music & Society Research articles and reviews for a general readership about popular music, culture, and sociology.
Popular Music History Original historical and historiographical research that draws on the wide range of disciplines and intellectual trajectories that have contributed to the establishment of popular music studies as a recognized academic enterprise.

Reference Books

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World Also available online, via Credo Reference. Links are on the catalog record here; click on this title to get the online version.
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66 C66 2003
Encyclopedia of African American music (3 vols.) Showcases all facets of African American music, including folk, religious, concert, and popular styles of today. Illuminates the profound role that African American music has played in American cultural history.
Call Number: Ref ML101.U6 E53 2011
Encyclopedia of World Pop Music, 1980-2001 / Stan Jeffries Weighted heavily towards European acts and secondarily towards Asian ones, this encyclopedia contains some 130 entries offering career details of groups and single artists who have achieved success in world pop charts. Entries include biographical information, trace the entrants' musical development, and recount the performers' critical and popular reception.
Call Number: Ref ML102.P66 J44 2003
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History Six volumes. From early rock n' roll to the British Invasion, from the psychedelic era to the growth of corporate rock and the underground scene, from the video generation to the grunge and post-grunge years, rock music has been an undeniable force in both reflecting and shaping cultural trends in the United States. Each of the six volumes in this set provides both narrative chapters and helpful recommended resources for information about important performers, trends, and genres within these exciting periods in rock music history.
Call Number: REF ML3534 .G754 2006
Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century / editor Alfred W. Cramer Also available online, via Credo Reference. Links are on the catalog record here; click on this title to get the online version. This five volume set offers biographical and critical essays on over 600 musicians in just about every genre imaginable, from Accordion Players to Musical Theater Composers to World Music, and everything in between.
Call Number: Ref ML105 .M883 2009