Information Literacy @ Keene State College

Primary Source Literacy (PSL) is a set of critical skills required to conduct research using primary sources.  Primary Source Literacy is a branch of the Mason Library’s Research & Information Literacy Support Services that engages students in the use of primary sources and the special collections of the Library.

PSL Student Learning Outcomes:

1. To identify types of primary sources in order to demonstrate the ability to judge and differentiate between various media.
2. To determine subject, narrative, and research application of primary sources in order to demonstrate the interpretative and analytical skills needed to conduct research.
3. To cite primary sources in order to demonstrate the ability to provide proper research documentation.

Engaging your Students with Primary Sources

Faculty can work with the College Archivist to integrate the use of primary sources into course assignments and develop primary source literacy. Sessions are customized for specific primary sources and subject area needs.

Common Sessions include:

• Identifying Primary vs. Secondary Sources
• Photographs
• Letters
• Diaries
• Holocaust Documents
• Oral Histories
• Literary Manuscripts
• Historical Newspapers
• Architectural Records
• Ethnographic Records
• Rare Books

Further Options to Integrate Special Collections & Primary Source Literacy

• Formal Internships. Departments can arranged for archival internships for their students to work and learn more about about primary sources and rare book and manuscript curatorship.
• Special Collection-Focused Courses. Faculty members can work with the College Archivist to design courses centered around a particular special collection or item(s). Past courses have focused on the Modern Poetry Collection, the NH Social Justice Collection, and Preston New Hampshire History Collection.
• Primary Source Literacy Course. An inter-disciplinary, semester-long course to develop PSL and to delve into the cultural importance of preserving primary sources. The course includes all the elements of the PSL curriculum and provides opportunity for students to use primary sources in a directed research project or creative production.

Courses, internships, and independent studies that have integrated PSL:

• EDUC 200 – Social Context Education
• ENG 215 – Literary Analysis
• ENG 497 – Publishing/Writing Internship
• FILM 298 – Independent Study
• HIST 200 – Read and Write History
• HIST 497 – Archives Internship
• ITW 100 – Local Lore
• JRN 315 – Media History & Theory
• WGS 495 – Capstone – Women & Gender Studies

Contact