Mason Library - About

Weeding: An Overview

Weeding refers to the continuous process in collection development in which items in the library collection that are outdated, rarely used, unnecessarily duplicated, no longer covered in the college curriculum, worn-out, or damaged are removed from the collection.Weeding extends to all materials in the library collections. 

The Need for Weeding

Weeding is an essential, continuous component of collection maintenance in libraries. Weeding maximizes collections’ usefulness, and ensures that the collection continues to support the instructional and research requirements of students, faculty, and staff, and saves space and time for both researchers and librarians. Weeding also frees shelf space for newly acquired materials.  The Collection Development Policy guides weeding decisions, in keeping with the library’s mission to collect, organize, and provide access to information resources. For an academic library, whose main mission is to support the Keene State College curriculum, it is important not only to purchase new materials, but also to get rid of publications that are out of date, are rarely used, or are no longer required by the disciplines taught at the college. 

Criteria for Weeding

• Currency
  The content of library materials should be accurate and up to date. Materials that are superseded by newer, revised, or updated editions may be weeded. 
• Usage
  Low or no usage may be a factor in weeding decisions. Library personnel consult circulation statistics  to determine viable candidates for weeding.
• Physical Condition
  Materials that are badly deteriorated or damaged and beyond reasonable preservation efforts will be weeded. Consideration for replacement will be made on a case-by-case basis.
• Duplicates
  Due to space limitations, the library may weed duplicate copies of library materials. Library staff will take into consideration the need to have more than one copy of a title on hand, especially for materials that are heavily used or are a part of a college-wide program.
• Completeness
  Materials that are part of a multi-volume set of which the library does not have all volumes may be weeded.
• Uniqueness
  The library will not weed materials that are considered unique.
• Format Obsolescence
  Materials in obsolete formats may be weeded if the content is available elsewhere or if the material is in poor condition.

Process

• Run usage statistics for print material
  • We will review items that have not circulated/been used in the past 10 years, or may be obsolete
• Consult latest edition of the course catalog to see how the curriculum has changed
• Collections librarian will consult with department chairs for input regarding weeding decisions
• Librarians are responsible for making final weeding decisions